New EDCA Sites Announced, Most Deployed in Northern Luzon Area

The Philippine government has now made it official regarding the additional four (4) EDCA sites that both the Philippines and the United States have agreed to earlier this year.

Four more EDCA sites were in the map, with three out of four sites deployed in Northern Luzon.
(c) Presidential Communications Office

MalacaƱang Palace has revealed the locations of four new sites that will be included in the Enhanced Defense Cooperation Agreement (EDCA) between the Philippines and the United States. The announcement was made on Monday, April 4, by the Presidential Communications Office, which quoted President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. as saying that the sites are "suitable and mutually beneficial" for both countries.

The four new sites are Naval Base Camilo Osias in Santa Ana, Cagayan; Lal-lo Airport in Lal-lo, Cagayan; Camp Melchor Dela Cruz in Gamu, Isabela; and Balabac Island in Palawan. According to the Presidential Communications Office, these sites are strategically located to defend the country's eastern coast and will enhance the Philippines' defense capabilities.

The EDCA between the Philippines and the United States was signed in 2014 during the administration of former President Benigno Aquino III. It allows the US military to have access to and use of certain Philippine military bases and facilities for a period of 10 years. The agreement aims to strengthen the alliance between the two countries and enhance their defense capabilities.

The announcement of the new EDCA sites comes amid rising tensions in the South China Sea, where the Philippines and other neighboring countries have competing claims with China. The Philippines has been increasing its defense capabilities in recent years, including through the modernization of its armed forces.

President Marcos Jr. has been a strong advocate of the country's defense modernization and has been pushing for the acquisition of more modern weapons and equipment for the military. He has also been seeking to strengthen the country's alliances with other countries, including the United States and Japan, to ensure the Philippines' security and territorial integrity.

The inclusion of the four new sites in the EDCA is expected to further enhance the Philippines' defense capabilities and contribute to the country's efforts to protect its sovereignty and territorial integrity.


(c) 2023 PMAU. 

No comments:

Post a Comment



Popular Posts

Webpage Visitors

Free counters!